Skip to content

Board of Directors

APPA Board of Directors

 Meeting Minutes

APPA Board of Directors 2016-2017


Andrew Boatright*
Deputy Director
Independence Power & Light, Mo.

Walter Haase*
General Manager
Navajo Tribal Utility Authority, Fort Defiance, Ariz.

Vice Chair
Coleman Smoak*

General Manager
Piedmont Municipal Power Agency, Greer, S.C.

Immediate Past Chair
Doug Hunter *
Chief Executive Officer
Utah Associated Municipal Power Systems, Salt Lake City, Utah

Paul McElroy*

CEO & Managing Director
JEA, Jacksonville, Fla.


William Acee
President, Board of Directors
Mayor, Village of Sherburne, Sherburne, N.Y.
ex-officio, Chair, Policy Makers Council

Girish Balachandran
General Manager
Riverside Public Utilities, Calif.

John Benavente, PE
General Manager
Guam Power Authority

John Bilda
General Manager
Norwich Public Utilities, Conn.

William Bottiggi
General Manager
Braintree Electric Light Department, Mass.

Ron Bowman
City Manager
Boerne, Texas

Anthony Cannon
General Manager/CEO
Greenville Utilities Commission, N.C.

Fred Clark
President & CEO
Alabama Municipal Electric Authority, Montgomery, Ala.

Jim Ferrell
Jackson Energy Authority, Tenn.

Kevin Gaden
President & CEO
Illinois Municipal Electric Agency and Illinois Municipal Utilities Association, Springfield, Ill.

William Gaines*
Director of Utilities/CEO
Tacoma Power, Wash.

Hugh Grunden
President & CEO
Easton Utilities Commission, Md.

Colin Hansen*
Executive Director
Kansas Municipal Utilities, McPherson, Kan.

Leslie James
Executive Director
Colorado River Energy Distributors Association, Phoenix, Ariz.

Decosta Jenkins*
President & CEO
Nashville Electric Service, Tenn.

David Koster
General Manager
Holland Board of Public Works, Mich.


Nilaksh Kothari
General Manager
Manitowoc Public Utilities, Wis.

Ewell Lawson
Manager of Government Relations & Member and Finance Services
Missouri Public Utility Alliance, Mo.
ex-officio, Advisory Committee Chair

Andrew McMahon
General Manager
Massena Electric Department, N.Y.

Scott Miller
General Manager
City Utilities of Springfield, Mo.

Barry Moline
Executive Director
Florida Municipal Electric Association, Tallahassee, Fla.

Arlen Orchard
Chief Executive Officer & General Manager
Sacramento Municipal Utility District, Calif.

Steve Rentfrow
General Manager
Crisp County Power Commission, Cordele, Ga.

Jacqueline Sargent*
General Manager
Austin Energy, Tex.

Kimberly Schlichting
Senior VP Operation & Power Supply
Delaware Municipal Electric Corporation, Inc.

Walter Schlink
Director of Power Resources
Rochester Public Utilities, Minn.

Leon Schochenmaier
City Administrator
Pierre Municipal Utilities, S.D.

Ronald Skagen
Douglas County Public Utility District, East Wenatchee, Wash.

Daniel Sullivan
General Manager/CEO
Grand River Dam Authority, Vinita, Okla.

Jolene Thompson*
Executive Director
Ohio Municipal Electric Association
Executive Vice President, Services & External Affairs
American Municipal Power, Inc., Columbus, Ohio

Kevin Wailes
Administrator & CEO
Lincoln Electric System, Neb.

Phil Williams
General Manager
Denton Municipal Electric, Texas

* 2016-2017 Executive Committee