Public Power Daily Logo

15 individuals, nine utilities win APPA awards

From the June 18, 2014 issue of Public Power Daily

Originally published June 18, 2014

Fifteen individuals and nine utilities were recognized for service to APPA and the public power industry during a June 17 general session at the APPA National Conference in Denver, Colorado. Award winners appeared on stage during a video tribute describing their achievements.  The video is posted on Public Power TV.  

APPA’s highest honor, the Alex Radin Distinguished Service Award, will be presented to one individual at the conference’s closing session today (June 18).

Individuals and utilities who were recognized at the June 17 ceremony are:

James D. Donovan Individual Achievement Award
The award recognizes people who have made substantial contributions to the electric utility industry, with a special commitment to public power. There were four recipients this year:

• Steven Blanchard, CEO and general manager of the Fayetteville Public Works Commission in North Carolina;
• Mel Davis, utility director of Lawrenceburg Municipal Utilities in Indiana;
• Bob Haug, special projects director and former executive director of the Iowa Association of Municipal Utilities in Ankeny, Iowa; and
• Shelley Sahling-Zart, vice president and general counsel at the Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska.

Harold Kramer-John Preston Personal Service Award
The award recognizes service to APPA through substantial contributions toward association goals. There were three recipients for 2014:

• Ted Coombes, executive director of the Southwest Power Resources Association in Tulsa, Oklahoma;
• Tom Graves, executive director of the Mid-West Electric Consumers Association in Wheat Ridge, Colorado; and
• Leslie James, executive director of the Colorado River Energy Distributors Association in Phoenix, Arizona.

Alan H. Richardson Statesmanship Award
The award recognizes public power leaders who work successfully on APPA’s behalf forging consensus on national issues that achieve public power’s goals. There was one recipient:

• Tom Heller, CEO of Missouri River Energy Services in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

Robert E. Roundtree Rising Star Award
The award recognizes future leaders of public power systems and includes a scholarship to attend any APPA-sponsored program. There was one recipient:

• Nona Jones, community and government relations director for Gainesville Regional Utilities in Florida.

Spence Vanderlinden Public Official Award
The award recognizes elected or appointed officials whose contributions to APPA and their communities have enhanced the prestige of public power nationally. There were two recipients:

• Barbara Ewing, mayor of Tell City, Indiana; and
• George Gant, secretary of the board of directors for the Kissimmee Utility Authority in Florida.

Larry Hobart Seven Hats Award
The award recognizes managers who perform a variety of duties in communities of 2,500 or fewer electric meters. There were four recipients:

• Roy Johnson, village administrator for Carey, Ohio;
• Robert Peter, city administrator for Ellinwood, Kansas;
• Todd Tessmann, utility superintendent for Hustisford Utilities in Wisconsin; and
• Kent VanDyne, utility superintendent for Walkerton Municipal Utilities in Indiana.

E.F. Scattergood System Achievement Award
This award honors APPA member systems that have enhanced the prestige of public power utilities through sustained achievement and customer service. There were two recipients:

• Bountiful City Light and Power in Utah; and
• Fayetteville Public Works in North Carolina.

Community Service Award
This award recognizes "good neighbor" activities that demonstrate the commitment of the utility and its employees to the community. There were three recipients:

• Beaches Energy Services in Jacksonville Beach, Florida;
• Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska; and
• Oconomowoc Electric Utility in Wisconsin.

Demonstration of Energy & Efficiency Developments (DEED) Energy Innovator Award
This award recognizes utility programs that have demonstrated advances in the development or application of creative, energy-efficient techniques or technologies to provide better service to electric customers, or projects that increase the efficiency of utility operations or resource efficiency. There were two recipients:

• Lansing Board of Water and Light in Michigan; and
• Lincoln Electric System in Nebraska.

Public Power Wind Award
This award recognizes public power utilities for leadership in promoting wind energy development and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy Wind and Water Power Program’s Wind Powering America initiative, in partnership with APPA. There were two recipients:

• Silicon Valley Power in Santa Clara, California; and
• Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority in Edmond, Oklahoma.


Be the first to rate this item!

Please Sign in to rate this.


  Add Your Comment

(1000 of 1000 characters remaining)

Vice President, Integrated Media and Communications
Meena Dayak

Editorial Director
Robert Varela

Editor, Public Power Daily
Jeannine Anderson

Communications Assistant
Fallon W. Forbush

Manager, Integrated Media 
David L. Blaylock

Integrated Media Editor 
Laura D’Alessandro