APPA Honors Rep. Lee Terry, R-Neb., with Public Service Award

March 12, 2014

Press Release

Washington, D.C., March 12, 2014 – Rep. Lee Terry (R-NE), Chair of the House Energy and Commerce Committee’s Subcommittee on Commerce, Manufacturing, and Trade, today received the American Public Power Association’s (APPA) Public Service Award at the association’s Legislative Rally in Washington, D.C. This award, initiated in 1978, recognizes a publicly elected or appointed official at the national or state level whose activities have furthered the objectives of public power.

Over the past 16 years, Rep. Terry has been a champion of public power. He has worked to limit the negative impacts of Environmental Protection Agency regulations on electric utilities by way of his pro-public power stances on the Energy Tax Prevention Act, the Energy Security and Affordability Act, the Transparency in Regulatory Analysis of Impacts on the Nation Act, and the Coal Residuals Reuse and Management Act of 2013. Rep. Terry has also proven himself a proponent of hydropower development, a champion of streamlining the natural gas pipeline process, and an advocate of nuclear safety issues.

Most recently, Rep. Terry sponsored House Resolution 112, celebrating the history of municipal bonds and their essential role in funding infrastructure for state and local governments.

“Representative Terry has been a longtime friend of public power,” said APPA President & CEO Mark Crisson. “He seems to understand more than most in Congress how important municipal bonds are to public power utilities that need to finance major infrastructure projects. If these bonds lose their tax-exempt status, customers all over the country will end up paying the price.”

The state of Nebraska has 150 public power systems serving almost one million customers.


Download PDF